Skip Navigation



Fineman Martha Albertson Fineman, JD
Robert W. Woodruff Professor of Law and Director of the Feminism and Legal Theory Project and the Vulnerability and the Human Condition Initiative


A. Bammer Angelika Bammer, PhD
Associate Professor, Emory University
Carrion Maria M. Carrion, PhD
Professor, Spanish, Women's Studies and Religion, Emory University
Carrion Melissa Carter, JD
Executive Director of the Barton Child Law and Policy Center, Emory University, Emory University
DiClement Ralph J. DiClemente, PhD
Charles Howard Candler Professor of Public Health; Associate Director of Emory/Atlanta Center for AIDS Research; Professor, School of Medicine, Department of Medicine, and Department of Psychiatry, Emory University
Dinner Deborah Dinner, JD, PhD
Associate Professor, Emory University School of Law
Freeman Carla Freeman, PhD
Winship Distinguished Research Professor of Anthropology and Women’s Studies, Emory University
Thomson Rosemarie Garland-Thomson, PhD
Professor, Women's Studies, Emory University
Gilman Sander L. Gilman, PhD
Director, Program in Psychoanalysis; Director, Health Sciences Humanities Initiative; Distinguished Professor of the Liberal Arts and Sciences; Professor, Psychiatry, Emory University
Sheryl Heron

Sheryl Heron,MD, MDP, FACEP
Associate Residency Director, Department of Emergency; Assistant Dean for Medical Education and Student Affairs, Emory University


Debra Houry, MD, MPH
Vice-Chair for Research and Associate Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine, Emory University

Nadine Kaslow

Nadine Kaslow, PhD, ABPP
Professor of Psychology, Emory University School of Medicine: Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences; Chief Psychologist, Grady Health System; Vice Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences; Director, Postdoctoral Fellowship Program in Professional Pscychology, Emory University School of Medicine

Ruby Lal

Ruby Lal, PhDAssociate Professor Department of Middle Eastern and South Asian Studies, Emory University

McCauley Linda A. McCauley RN, PhD, FAAN, FAAOHN
Dean and Professor, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing, Emory University
Nash Jonathan Nash, JD, LLM
Professor, Emory School of Law
Owens Michael Leo Owens, PhD
Associate Professor, Political Science; Faculty Associate of the Center for the Study of Law and Religion; Senior Faculty Fellow, Office of University-Community Partnerships, Emory University
Price Polly J. Price, JD
Associate Dean of Faculty, Professor of Law, Emory School of Law; Associated Faculty, Department of History; Emory University
Sita Ranchod Nilsson Sita Ranchod-Nilsson, PhD
Director, Institute for Developing Nations, Emory University
Reiss Benjamin Reiss, PhD
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies in English, Emory University
Rothbaum Barbara Olasov Rothbaum, PhD
Professor, Psychiatry, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Emory School of Medicine; Director, Trauma and Anxiety Recovery Program, Emory University
Teemu Teemu Ruskola, JD
Professor, Emory School of Law
Satz Ani B. Satz, PhD, JD
Associate Professor, Emory School of Law; Associate Professor, Rollins School of Public Health and Center for Ethics
Sterk Claire E. Sterk, PhD
Senior Vice Provost, Academic Affairs and Charles Howard Candler Professor of Public Health, Emory University
Vertinsky Liza Vertinsky, PhD, JD
Assistant Professor, Emory School of Law
K. Widner Kirsten L. Widner, JD
PhD Candidate, Political Science, Emory University
Wingood Gina M. Wingood, ScD, MDH
Agnes Moore Faculty in HIV/AIDS Research; Professor, Department of Behavioral Sciences and Health Education; Director, Social and Behavioral Science Core, Emory Center for AIDS Research
Woodhouse Barbara Bennett Woodhouse, JD
L.Q.C. Lamar Chair of Law; Co-Director, Barton Child Law and Policy Center, Emory University
Worthington Paul J. Zwier II, JD, LLM
Professor, Emory Law School; Director, Program for International Advocacy and Dispute Resolution; Director, Advocacy Skills Program, Emory University
VHC Affiliated Faculty: Claire E. Sterk, PhD
Join our mailing list to receive communication regarding program initiatives, activities and participation opportunities


Mailing Address: Vulnerability and the Human Condition Initiative, Emory University, School of Law, Gambrell Hall, 1301 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30322

Phone: 404.712-2420; Fax: 404-727-6820

Staff Email: Martha Albertson Fineman – Yvana Mols –